Helsinki's Yarra Trams 'Beware the Rhino' card tops 5th Annual Postcard of the Year Awards

YarraTrams_1.jpgHelsinki, Melbourne's Yarra Trams 'Beware the Rhino' postcad has beaten out 11 other finalists to be named 2011/2012 Postcard of the Year.

Now in its fifth year, the Postcard of the Year Awards is recognised as an industry benchmark for promoting and rewarding outstanding creative in advertising. This year the creative net was widened by opening up the competition to postcards that included non-traditional postcard backs. This allowed a greater variety of creative execution to enter the competitive mix. Avant Card has produced more than 24 million postcards in the past 12 months, the most in its 20 year history, and the finalists are the elite few that have risen to the top to be industry-recognised.
Trophy2011-12_v2.jpgAs the grand prize winner, Yarra Trams received a trophy prize and $20,000 of advertising with Avant Card.

Following the announcement of the winner, Pat Mackle, managing director of Avant Card said: "The campaign drew the majority of votes from the panel of judges. It stood out from the pack with its special die-cut execution that increased its all-important 'pick-me-up' factor."

May 2011 judge, David Bell - Executive Creative Director, Mercer Bell, gave his thoughts on the Yarra Trams campaign: "The last year has seen another stellar line up of campaigns all worthy of being awarded Postcard of the Month. The array & variety of the 12 finalists has been carefully selected by the industry's most respected creative people from around Australia. 'Beware the Rhino' is a deserving winner. It is simple in design yet clever in execution and boasts the addition of a cut-out shape to really enhance the simplicity of the design.

"Pedestrian accidents must be quite a problem in Melbourne, so to highlight the danger the agency has come up with a very graphic and powerful analogy to make their point. A tram weighs as much as 30 rhinos, so be aware around trams."

Client: Yarra Trams
Marketing Manager: Matt McDonell
Creative Director: John Hillier
Art Director and Designer: Mikey Tucker
Copywriter: Julian Penwright
Finished Artist: Shawn Hekman
Media Agency and Representative: Helsinki

The twelve judges on the panel:
David Bell - Executive Creative Director, MercerBell
Alex Booker - Senior Art Director at BMF, Sydney
Cristian Staal - Associate Creative Director, SapientNitro
Jacqui Lau - Art Director, Smart Inc
James Gillespie - Regional Creative Director - Adcorp
Rodney Payne - Creative Director - Zoo
Nick Harvey -Creative Director, Laundry Group
Dom Roberts - Creative Director, Mash
Tom Wenborn & Danielle Pollock, Bundy Agency
Anna Morris - Broadcast Media and Print Production Manager, OBM ADVERTISING
Ben Akers - Creative Director, Republic of Everyone
Juan Melara - Senior Designer, Gray Matters Advertising

Submissions for the 201/22013 Postcard of the Year Awards are now open.
For more details on postcard of the year awards go to:


Kate said:

Congrats guys. Glad to see this piece win - it's a great campaign.

Andrew said:

Well done -good thinking all round!

Nony said:

Onya, Tucker - Helsinki must be spewin' they lost your talent

Tarsem said:

Forget Cannes. This is the one to win.

Leave a comment