AADC awards prestigious silver watering can to Nation's Greg Knagge and Geoff Robertson; KWP! and Clemenger BBDO lead the agency pack

1Q3A9444sml[2].jpgLast night the Adelaide Advertising and Design Club held its annual awards at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre in the Theatre Room with Tom Ballard as MC.

KWP! with 10 awards and Clemenger BBDO with two Chairs and eight awards led the agency pack, with Showpony, Kojo, Jamshop and Hybrid making a few short walks on the night.
The theme for this year's award was 'What would you give?' created by Kent O'Halloran and Chris Plummer from Jamshop and Mike Wilson from Kojo.
Each year, the finest work across 11 unique categories is judged by a group of respected industry peers from around the country, and showcased on the night.
President Mike Rogers (in the absence of his co president Josh Welbourne) awarded the prestigious silver watering can to Greg Knagge and Geoff Robertson from Nation. The award recognizes outstanding contribution above and beyond the call of duty to the advertising industry in South Australia.

Says Robertson: "I'm so thrilled that Greg and I were acknowledged last night."

Says Knagge: "This is also an award win for Nation and something that we share with each and every one of our team. Nation is the culmination of all that Geoff and I have worked for over the past 25 years. As individuals and as a team, our staff personify everything we represent and strive to achieve."

Says Rogers: "Greg and Geoff were a clear standout for the award because of their contribution to the State's creativity. They have never been ones to big-note themselves, they're genuine, honest and good blokes. That's why people look up to them."
Says Simon Langley, ECD of JWT Sydney and chairman of judges: "As an Adelaide boy, I was extremely proud to see the industry in South Australia is alive and well, with great ideas and craft across all categories. With an amazing panel of judges giving up their time to make sure only the best work was awarded, the winners should hold their heads high knowing they got past some very tough critics."

The Awards included a swag of judges from across the country including Jonathan Kneebone from The Glue Society, Simon Veksner from DDB Sydney and David Joubert from GPY&R.
AADC-CHAIR.jpgWith an increase in digital entries, the club ensured there was a strong caliber of judges to look at the work which included Ina Behrendt from Razorfish and James Theophane from Holler. A digital chair award was presented to Phil Moule from Kojo for responsive design for creaturetechnology.com.
Two chairs were awarded to Matt O'Grady from Clemenger BBDO Adelaide for Activations - Idea and for Out of Home, both for Fantastic Snacks' 'How far would you cue for Fantastic Delites Curls'.
The chair award recognizes the mix of disciplines that have become a part of today's advertising and marketing communications landscape. It can be presented in each of the 11 categories in the competition but is only ever awarded if the work is deemed exceptional.
The AADC hopes to have a digital copy of the awards book online soon.

View the full list of winners: 2014_AADC_Book_Final-Web.pdf


Erik said:

It's been a couple of years between drinks but the watering can has finally found a good home.

JJ said:

Bring back the MADC awards - sad that Melbourne's the only state now without a show. Bad for the culture of the industry.

Straatts said:

Well deserved Greg and Geoff. Two dedicated creatives who have helped nurture and push creativity in SA for many years. Congrats!

Ollie said:

Congrats guys. A lot of creatives have benefitted immensely from the time and energy you've put into the helping the industry, and this accolade is just a small token of everyone's appreciation!

Don Droga said:

Checked out the PDF. Nothings changed much for SA. Saw better work 15 years ago.

Leave a comment