AdStars 2017 releases shortlist after completion of judging 21,530 entries; McCann leads OZ

Playnasium_McCann Melbourne_Cannes Contenders (1).jpgAdStars 2017 has released its finalist list that will be judged by its final juries at the Festival to be held in Busan, South Korea August 22-23.

In total 21,530 entries were submitted to AdStars this year and 210 online judges from 62 countries have cut this down to 1,802 finalists. Australia has scored a total of 125 finalists led by McCann Melbourne with 52 finalists.

Download the shortlist - Finalists_Professional_AD STARS 2017.pdf
Anselmo Ramos sml.jpgOgilvy Melbourne comes in second with 11 finalists ahead of BMF and BWM Dentsu with 10 finalists each. Creative17 and Alt.vfx have scored eight finalists each whilst Clemenger BBDO Melbourne has seven. Goodoil has picked up five finalists, AIRBAG and Y&R Sydney have three each. The OTTO Empire has scored two finalists, whilst Fenton Stephens, FIN Design + Effects, The Brand Agency, J. Walter Thompson Sydney, Publicis Q and Marketforce have all received one finalist each.

These shortlists will be judged by juries lead by Suthisak Sucharittanonta (BBDO Bangkok), Wain Choi (Cheil Seoul), Anselmo Ramos (pictured left - DAVID Miami), Helen Pak (Grey Canada) and Adrian Botan (McCann EMEA) with winners announced at the final awards presentation.

Says Eui Ja Lee, co-chair of the AdStars executive committee: "It's hard to believe how quickly our awards show has grown since we first launched in 2008. We received over 21,500 entries to the AdStars Awards, which shows our mandate of being a global awards show that is free to enter and committed to 'creativity for good' is resonating with creative communities around the world. I'm especially proud of the diversity of entries and judges we have attracted this year."
AdStars is the only global festival that is free-to-enter and offers a US$10,000 cash prize for Grand Prix of the Year winners. With entries from 40 countries, AdStars received the highest number of submissions from Japan, followed by Thailand, Korea, Australia, Philippines, China and New Zealand.

Leave a comment