The CEO Magazine reveals 2017 Executive of the Year Awards finalists; Awards night held Nov 15

CEOMag.jpgThe CEO Magazine has revealed its top finalists for the 2017 Executive of the Year Awards. Ranging over 23 categories, the awards will honour and acknowledge some of the finest business leaders and professionals in Australia.

Finalists with two nominations include Jason Dooris (top, left), CEO, Atomic 212 Group and Jaimes Leggett (centre), group CEO, M&C Saatchi Group in the Media Executive of the Year and CEO of the Year categories. Also making the cut in the Media Executive of the Year category is Pete Bosilkovski (top, right), CEO, Leo Burnett Sydney and Sean Seamer (bottom, left), CEO, MediaCom Australia + New Zealand. Caleb Bush (bottom, right), managing director and vice president, George P. Johnson has been shortlisted in the Managing Director of the Year category.
Previous winners of the Media Executive of the Year Award include Dooris (2016), Dentsu Aegis Network CEO Luke Littlefield (2015), Bosilkovski (2014), REA Group CEO and managing director Greg Ellis (2013) and Prime Media Group CEO Ian Audsley (2012).

Australia's most prestigious business awards event, the Executive of the Year Awards recognise the individual excellence of senior executives. One of the most hotly contested events for Australia's leading executives, the awards celebrate the success, innovation and business acumen of individuals in corporate Australia. From thousands of entries, 10 experienced judges from a range of industries have chosen 105 finalists in 23 categories.

Says Pete Bosilkovski, CEO, Leo Burnett Sydney: "It is an honour to have been named a finalist in The CEO Magazine's highly respected Executive of the Year Awards. Whilst I'm over the moon to be named a finalist, I recognise its not a solo sport. Our success in transforming our company into a progressive innovative creative solutions company could not be achieved without the drive and passion of my amazing team at Leo Burnett and the support of my brilliant client partners. I am exceptionally proud of our entire team for all that we have achieved as a business."

Says Seamer: "I am thrilled and honoured to be a finalist in this year's awards, which I believe is testament to the amazing team I lead at MediaCom."

The prestigious business awards event will be held at Crown Melbourne on 15 November, hosted by Eddie McGuire who has MC'd the event since the inaugural awards in 2012.



Look at that photo... said:

And tell me our industry doesn't have an entrenched sexism problem.

Kevin said:

These guys all nominated themselves. Sad but true.
especially given the financial state of at least 4 of the agencies they lead.
Just you wait and see

Sausage Party said:

Welcome to the show offs club.

Pony handlers inc. said:

Buy me a pony

Laughable said:

CEO magazine is pay for placement and a joke within the publishing industry. For anyone to think that winning an award from them means something is even more laughable.

Groucho said:

Where was Todd?

Brett Bonser said:

And not a single women amongst the group. What a sad state of affairs. Is it no wonder that Women and demanding a fairer go in the workplace

Please said:

It's the white guy bossman awards brought to you by the Imperialist Patriarchy.

sigh said:

This is a perfect list when you want to know which CEO's have an ego that is out of control. I would not want to work for anyone that nominates themselves for an award from CEO magazine. Seriously. WTAF?

Where is Nick? said:

Can't believe the biggest name in the industry isn't on the list. Surely after ClemengerBBDO Melbourne was named agency of the year, he at least makes the short list. Especially considering he was behind all the award winning work and has managed to keep and foster all the great talent...

Seriously? said:

Can someone please make a meme with this pronto!

Wally said:


@where is Nick said:

Calm down sunshine.

Garrett doesn't claim to be the architect of the winning work. And for what it's worth the 'talent' that's left (with the exception of Ant) weren't integral. A few more will leave yet, and that's a good thing.

Can't. said:

Stop. Laughing. At. This. Lot.

Hot. Air. Balloons. said:

If you want these awards to ever mean a thing - stop the self nominations. Yet again we have a list of hot air balloons. If you want quality nominees, look for client satisfaction. This list is largely composed of individuals that invest more energy in self promotion than their unfortunate client's briefs.

Classic said:

Such great diversity! *eye roll*

Self aggrandizing said:

Self-aggrandizing, self-nominating, self-promoting, self-pleasuring tripe. Same as AdNews Creativity Hot List, which boasted no less than 3 individuals from the same Melbourne agency, desperately vying for a place in the sun. Hot air indeed. And lazy journalism at best. Thumbs down all around.

Go Pete! said:

Congrats Leos

@Go Pete! said:

Yeah, coz Leo Burnett are on fire!!!???!!!

Too funny. said:

Nominate yourself for an award. Then say how humbled you are to be nominated!
That's a new-kinda-ego right there. Never saw Tom Dery or Tom McFarlane having the time to nominate themselves for an award. They were too busy working on their clients business to be worried about self- promotion.

Please mansplain? said:

Where are the ladies?! Surely this cannot be all the finalists.
Depressing as hell if it is.
This is the year of the time warp I am now convinced.

Too funny said:

Dear 'Nominees'
Just because the story is off the front page doesn't mean we're still not laughing

lol said:

Are you serious? They are losing millions in digital revenue because they're an agency caught in 1990s thinking and their talent are leaving like rats on the Titanic?

Put a CEO on that list that matters, not one with a big wallet.

No surprise said:

Same Media entrants every year for last three years... Our company called several times to enter and then trying to sell tables to attend. Sponsors from last year now entrants, we'll see who wins then !!!

Leave a comment