Australian Juliet Taylor to sit on the Photography jury for The One Club's ADC 97th Annual Awards

Juliet_Taylor_Headshot_Web.jpgThe One Club for Creativity, the world's foremost non-profit organisation celebrating creative excellence in advertising and design, has today announced the full juries for Typography, Illustration and Photography in the prestigious ADC 97th Annual Awards.

The Photography jury includes Juliet Taylor (left), photographer, director, from Darlinghurst, Australia.  

In accordance with the 50/50 Initiative, launched by ADC in 2013 to promote equal participation for women and men on award show juries, boards of directors, event panels and speaker lineups, this year's Typography, Illustration and Photography juries are gender balanced with 16 women and 14 men representing 14 countries.
They will judge work from around the world based on the show's historic focus of honoring the best in craft, design and innovation.  Entries can be submitted via, deadline is January 31, 2018.

The juries are as follows:

Fumihito Katamura, photographer, Fumihito Katamura Photograph Office, Tokyo, Japan (jury chair)
Nazik Armenakyan, documentary photographer, cofounder, 4Plus Documentary Photography Centre, Yerevan, Armenia
Geoff Green, photographer, Geoff Green Photography, New York, NY, USA
Karolis Janulis, artist, Vilnius, Lithuania
Osborne Macharia, commercial photographer, Afrofuturism artist, Nairobi, Kenya
Cait Oppermann, photographer, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Christine Reilly, photo director, WWE Digital Media, New York, NY, USA
Jane Samuels, photographer, artist, Manchester, UK
Tim Tadder, photographer, director, Tim Tadder Photography, Encinitas, CA, USA
Juliet Taylor, photographer, director, Darlinghurst, Australia

Jean Fran├žois Porchez, founder, Typofonderie, type director, ZeCraft, Clamart, France (jury chair)
Nadine Chahine, UK type director, legibility expert, Monotype, Ltd., London, UK
Becca Clason, lettering artist, Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Martina Flor, founder, creative director, Studio Martina Flor, Berlin, Germany
Tobias Frere-Jones, founder, design director, Frere-Jones Type, New York, NY, USA
Tolga Girgin, calligraphy artist, electrical engineer, Eski┼čehir, Turkey
Sabeena Karnik, paper typographer, illustrator, Mumbai, India
Mitch Paone, founder, creative director, DIA, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Alex Trochut, creative director, typographer, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Liron Lavi Turkenich, typeface designer, researcher, Haifa, Israel

Anita Kunz, illustrator, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (jury chair)
Marion Deuchars, illustrator, author, Marion Deuchars Ltd., London, UK
Lisk Feng, illustrator, Rego Park, NY, USA
Emily Flake, cartoonist, illustrator, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Tatsuro Kiuchi, illustrator, painter, Tokyo, Japan
Tea Leigh, tattoo artist, Welcome Home Studio, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Emiliano Ponzi, illustrator, Milan, Italy
Brian Rea, illustrator, artist, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Yuko Shimizu, illustrator, New York, NY, USA
Zipeng Zhu, creative director, Dazzle, New York, NY, USA

Says Michael O'Rourke, executive director, ADC, part of The One Club for Creativity: "Typography, Illustration and Photography have always played an important role in the ADC Annual Awards. This year's group of jurors are talented creative leaders who are highly qualified to judge work in their respective fields through the lens of excellence in craft, design and innovation."

Full ADC 97th Annual Awards juries for Advertising, Brand/Communication Design, Experiential Design, Interactive, Packaging/Product Design, Publication Design and Motion/Film Craft will be announced shortly.

New tiered pricing structure

A significant change to this year's awards program is a tiered pricing structure designed to make it easier for smaller agencies, studios and freelancers to participate.  Companies with 21 or more employees pay the standard entry fee; smaller shops with from 2 to 20 employees get a discount on entries (amount varies by discipline) and freelance creatives and one-person shops are eligible for an even greater reduction in their entry fee.

The new tiered pricing structure helps level the playing field and makes it easier for smaller studios and independent designers, photographers, illustrators and typographers to get their work judged by an all-star creative jury and elevated on a global stage.  It also reflects The One Club's mission to support and celebrate the success of the entire global creative community regardless of company size or location.

ADC Annual Awards juries focus on craft, design and innovation, while juries for The One Club for Creativity's One Show Awards judge work based on creativity of ideas and quality of execution.

Judging takes place in March, with finalists announced in April in lead up to the ADC 97th Annual Awards Ceremony on May 7, 2018 as part of Creative Week in New York.

For more information about the ADC 97th Annual Awards, please visit

Leave a comment