The One Club names Self-titled Melbourne's Jake Smallman to serve on the Young Guns 16 jury

JakeSmallman (1).jpgThe One Club for Creativity, the world's foremost non-profit organization recognizing creative excellence in advertising and design, has selected Jake Smallman, creative director at Self-titled in Melbourne to serve on the jury for its Young Guns 16 competition, celebrating international creative professionals age 30 or younger.

Smallman, who is a Young Guns 7 winner, is one of the 61 creative leaders from 19 countries who will serve as judges.

Young Guns is the industry's only global, cross-disciplinary, portfolio-based awards competition that identifies and celebrates today's vanguard of young creatives, recognizing a body of both professional and personal work.  Young Guns competitions attract entries from upwards of 70 countries, with more than half of the entries coming from outside the US.  Deadline for entry is June 15, 2018, 11:59 pm EST.
This year's selections will be made by the following jury, more than half of whom are past Young Guns winners:
Sahar Afshar, type designer, Birmingham, UK
Alex Bec, director, co-owner, The Hudsonbeo Group, London, UK
Thomas Berger, senior vice president of design and brand creative, MTV/VH1/Logo, New York, NY, USA
Amy Boe, group creative director, POSSIBLE, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nina Boesch, senior UX designer, Local Projects, New York, NY, USA (YG7)
Maxi Borrego, brand creative director, MTV International, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Tom Brown, director, Psyop, New York, NY, USA (YG13)
Jordan Bruner, animation director, illustrator, Brooklyn, NY, USA (YG11)
Catherine Chesters, visual storyteller, Elsie & Co., New York, NY, USA (YG2)
Elan Cole, creative director, NYC & Company, New York, NY, USA (YG1)
Alyssa Coscarelli, senior fashion market editor, Refinery29, New York, NY, USA
Ashwini Deshpande, cofounder, director, Elephant, Pune, India
Kimberly Dulaney, art director, illustrator, designer, Brooklyn, NY, USA (YG9)
Faust, artist, New York, NY, USA (YG12)
Lauren Ferreira, senior copywriter, Droga5, New York, NY, USA
Louise Fili, director, Louise Fili Ltd., New York, NY, USA
Wendy W Fok, creative director, trained architect (spatial), WE-DESIGNS, New York, NY, USA and Hong Kong (YG11)
Devan Harlan, artist, art director, New York, NY, USA (YG6)
Ekene Ijeoma, artist, designer, Studio Ijeoma, Brooklyn, New York, USA
Patrick Janelle, chief executive officer, Untitled Secret, New York, NY, USA
Verónica Fuerte Julve, founder, art director, Hey Studio, Barcelona, Spain (YG7)
Andrius Kirvela, digital artist, director, PetPunk, Vilnius, Lithuania (YG7)
Menno Kluin, chief creative officer, 360i, New York, NY, USA (YG6)
Gracia Lam, illustrator, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (YG8)
Cecile Larssen Lønning, creative director, Larssen & Amaral, Haugesund, Norway
Shawn Lovejoy, global director, packing design, Tom Ford Beauty, New York, NY, USA
Heather Luipold, creative lead, Google Creative Lab, New York, NY, USA
Emily Macrae, designer, London, UK (YG10)
PieterJan Mattan, creative director, Studio Mattan, New York, NY, USA
Pablo Medina, graphic designer, typographer, artist, Design is Culture, New York, NY, USA (YG3)
Aviva Michaelov, design director, The New Yorker, Conde Nast, New York, NY, USA
Luisa Milani, creative director, La Tigre, Milan, Italy (YG10)
Javin Mo, founder, design director, Milkxhake, Hong Kong (YG5)
Siphiwe SJ Myeza, director, partner, 7Films, Cape Town, South Africa (YG15)
Julia Neumann, ECD, TBWA\Chiat\Day, New York, NY, USA (YG7)
Eiko Ojala, illustrator, Tallinn, Estonia (YG11)
Juan Carlos Pagan, designer, art director, creative director, Sunday Afternoon, New York, NY, USA (YG11)
Jason Peterson, co-chairman, chief creative officer, Havas Worldwide, Chicago, IL USA
Pinar&Viola, digital artists, Paris, France
Leigh Reyes, president, chief creative officer, MullenLowe Group Philippines, Makati, Philippines
Jesse Rieser, photographer, Phoenix, AZ, USA (YG9)
Melatan Riden, partner, creative director, Not an Office, New York, NY, USA
Bernardo Romero, senior vice president, group creative director, Area 23/FCB Health, New York, NY, USA
Elina Rudkovsky, senior copywriter, M:United/McCann New York, New York, NY, USA
Pedro Sampiao, art director, BBDO, New York, NY, USA (YG15)
Elaine McMillion Sheldon, director, Charleston, WV, USA (YG14)
Brad Sherman, partner, FLOAT Studio, New York, NY, USA
Helena Skonieczny, creative director, 72andSunny, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jake Smallman, creative director, Self-titled, Melbourne, Australia (YG7)
Shanti Sparrow, creative director, head of teaching, illustrator, Shillington School of Design, New York, NY, USA
Studio AH-HA, Lisbon, Portugal (YG13)
Mária Švarbová, photographer, art director, Bratislava, Slovakia
Amber Vittoria, illustrator, New York, NY, USA (YG15)
Daniel Vosovic, founder, creative director, THE KIT, New York, NY, USA
Jessica Walsh, designer, art director, cofounder, Sagmeister & Walsh, New York, NY, USA (YG8)
Jennifer Whitney, creative director, N/A Collective, New York, NY, USA (YG15)
Merel Witteman, art director, KesselsKramer, Amsterdam, Netherlands (YG14)
Kelly Woh, group creative director, Ogilvy, Shanghai, China
Masuru Yokoi, creative director, art director, TV Asahi, Tokyo, Japan (YG4)
Daniel Zender, illustrator, Brooklyn, NY, USA (YG13)
Zim&Zou, illustrators, Nancy, France (YG12)

Says Michael O' Rourke, executive director, ADC: "This stellar jury is highly qualified to review a body of professional and personal work from entrants and identify the next generation of creative leaders. Young Guns 16 winners become part of an elite, career-long global creative community of past YGs who often reconnect over the years to refer work, collaborate on projects and help advance each other's careers."

Young Guns is open to creatives age 30 and under who have been working for at least two years, full-time or freelance.  Eligible entrants can submit a combination of professional and personal work in graphic design; advertising art direction and copywriting; architectural, environmental and interior design; industrial and product design; digital (UX/UI, experiential design, interactive, web design, apps, game development): film and animation (motion design, television, video); fashion; typography and lettering; illustration and photography.

The online entry system is open now at, with a deadline of June 15, 2018, 11:59 pm EST.  This year's winners will be recognized at the Young Guns 16 celebration and party on November 15, 2018 at the Highline Ballroom in New York.

All Young Guns 16 winners will receive a unique version of the iconic Young Guns Cube, designed exclusively for this year's incoming class, and have their permanent profile page added to the Young Guns website.  Winners also receive a complimentary one-year membership to The One Club for Creativity, permanent membership in the Young Guns network, a chance to be featured in Young Guns events and an assortment of career-boosting opportunities from Young Guns sponsors.

Young Guns 16 and other One Club activities are made possible in part through the generous support of sponsors including Levine/Leavitt, Crealev and Shutterstock.

Past Young Guns include rising stars who went on to become leaders in their chosen fields, including graphic designers James Victore (YG1) and Stefan Sagmeister (YG1), advertising creative Rei Inamoto (YG4), illustrators Christoph Niemann (YG2) and Deanne Cheuk (YG4); photographers Ryan McGinness (YG2) and Jeremy Floto/Cassandra Warner (aka floto+warner, YG5); typographers Alex Trochut (YG6) and Gemma O'Brien (YG13); film and video director Mike Mills, animation artist Todd St. John (YG1) and others.

To enter or see more information, please visit

Leave a comment