Final jury announced for Ad Stars Awards; Jen Speirs and Matty Burton to represent Australia

Matty Burton-web-thumb-400x470-81877.jpgJen-Speirs-bw-600x600.jpgAd Stars will welcome 34 advertising executives from around the world ~ including two from Australia ~ to Busan, Korea, where they will judge the Ad Stars 2018 Awards, which will be announced on Saturday 25th August.

Representing Australia on the jury are Matty Burton, Creative Chief, Google Zoo Asia Pacific and Jen Speirs, Deputy Executive Creative Director at BMF (pictured above).
Ad Stars received 20,342 entries to this year's awards, cementing its position as the biggest global advertising awards platform that is based in Asia. A panel of remote judges have already selected the finalists, which will now be judged by the 34 Final and Executive Judges listed below.
page_00006199_1529334443.jpgAd Stars has also recruited 11 executives to judge the New Stars and Young Stars competitions. The New Stars program is open to anyone with less than three years' industry experience, or who is aged below 30. The Young Stars program gives people studying at college or university the chance to get ahead in the advertising industry before they've even graduated.

This year's Ad Stars, New Stars and Young Stars judges by country are:
Matty Burton, Creative Chief, Google Zoo Asia Pacific
Jen Speirs, Deputy Executive Creative Director at BMF      
Lenilson Lima, Creative Director, Agência Um
Jan Hendrik Ott, Executive Creative Director, Jung von Matt China
David Yang, Vice President and General Manager, BlueFocus Digital Marketing Agency   
Weiwen (Kevin) Guo, General Manager of Strategic Cooperation & Marketing Innovation Department, Ctrip Travel Group
Yan (Cindy) Chen, Partner & Chief Strategy Officer, Focus Media Group China (New Star Judge)           
Windy Wu, Marketing General Manager of Advertising Platform at Meituan (Young Stars Judge)
Franz Roeppischer, Creative Innovation Director at Serviceplan Group (In addition to judging the AD STARS 2018 Awards, Roeppischer is judging this year's Young Stars competition.)           
Gábor Spielmann, Creative Director & Partner, Kabooom (New Star Judge)
Vasudha Misra, Executive Creative Director at BBH India
Kok Keong Chow, Executive Creative Director, Hakuhodo Indonesia. (In addition to judging the AD STARS 2018 Awards, Chow is this year's Young Stars Jury President.)
Timo Mitsuaki Otsuki. CEO / Founder, Connection
Marina Danjo, Copywriter at DENTSU INC.  
Satoko Takada, Creative Director at McCann Japan
Sei Sugiyama, Creative Director at Ogilvy Japan     
Minoru Yashima, Executive Communication Director, ADK (New Stars Judge)
Daiji Yoshida, Tohokushinsha Film Corp, Japan (Young Stars Judge)
Hyunjung Cho, Creative Director, Innocean Worldwide        
Eunha Bhang, Executive Creative Director, HS Ad  
Moonsong Pyo, Chief Creative Officer/Vice-President, AdQUA UNBOUND
Mangi Baek, Creative Director at Cheil Worldwide
Taeho Shin, Creative Director, Cheil Worldwide (New Star Judge)
Seonyeon Lee, Account Executive at TBWA Korea Korea (Young Stars Judge)
Swee Ling Ng, Film Director, Directors Think Tank
Andrei Ivanoff, Creative VP, MullenLowe Mexico      
Ujaya Shakya, Managing Director, Outreach Nepal
New Zealand
Toby Talbot, Chief Creative Officer, Saatchi & Saatchi New Zealand (Executive Judge)
Joey David Tiempo, Executive Creative Director at Nuworks Interactive Labs. (In addition to judging the AD STARS 2018 Awards, Tiempo is this year's New Stars Jury President.)
Joji Jacob, Co-Founder & Creative Partner, BLK J (Executive Judge)        
Guan Hin Tay, Global Executive Creative Director, JWT Singapore            
South Africa
Liam Wielopolski, Chief Creative Officer, DDB South Africa
Anna Qvennerstedt, Copywriter, Senior Partner and Chairman of the Board at Forsman & Bodenfors (Executive Judge)
Richard Yu, Chief Creative Officer, ADK Taiwan
Warunpon Trithepwijit, Creative Director at SOUR Bangkok
Woon Hoh, Chief Creative Officer at Hakuhodo Asia Pacific (Executive Judge)
United Arab Emirates
Tahaab Aslam Rais, Regional Head of Strategy & Truth Central, FP7/McCann Worldgroup MENA
United Kingdom
Judy Hill, Executive Producer, Nexus Studios          
Brett Macfarlane, Principle at Method Inc. (New Star Judge)           
United States of America
Ari Halper, Chief Creative Officer at FCB New York (Executive Judge)      
Kash Sree, Executive Creative Director, Gyro
Paul Busschau, Creative Director, Happiness Saigon
Says Hwan Jin Choi, chairman, Ad Stars executive committee: "We would like to thank all the executives who are making time to judge this year's awards. Not only are they responsible for choosing the winners of the Ad Stars 2018 Awards, they will also select our Grand Prix of the Year winners, which will be awarded a cash prize of US$10,000 apiece. It's a big responsibility but they are the perfect candidates for the job."
Winners will be revealed on the last night of the 11th Ad Stars festival, a three-day festival of ideas and creativity that runs from 23rd to 25th August 2018 at Bexco (Busan Exhibition and Convention Center).
For more information about Ad Stars 2018 or to purchase tickets, visit


Mick Hunter said:

Good for you Jen.

Leave a comment