blackBocks Jamshop takes out Gold Chair at AADC Awards; Di Willson wins President's Award

yjQMY2kA.jpegAustralia's longest, continually running industry body, the AADC held its 41st annual awards at the National Wine Centre in Adelaide last night.

The recipient of the 2018 President's Award was Di Willson. Recorded messages of congratulations from Danny Searle, chief creative officer and vice chairman, BBDO Asia/chairman BBDO Singapore and Tony Hardcastle, creative director, MullenLowe, London, were an indication of the esteem in which Willson is held.

An agency producer for more than 30 years, Willson has been instrumental in bringing to life some of the most awarded and recognised campaigns for clients including Mitsubishi Australia, Farmer's Union, Coopers Brewery, SA Tourism, FH Faulding and SA Brewing to name but a few.
Says James Rickard, AADC president: "The body of work Di has produced has gone on to win more awards than anyone else here tonight - AWARD Awards, Cannes, Clios, London Internationals, Mobius, New York Festivals, and of course countless AADC Awards among many others. Tonight, she gets the recognition she so richly deserves."

A total of 19 companies had their work recognised on the night with 2 Chairs being awarded to blackBocks Jamshop and one each to Heesom Casting, Showpony, Simple Integrated Marketing and The Distillery.

Eqq0aMZw.jpegIn addition to 2 Chairs, one each for National Pharmacies and MAC, 10 Awards and 13 Finalists, the big winners on the night, blackbocks Jamshop were also awarded the Gold Chair for the most outstanding idea of the show, for its Fatigue campaign for the Motor Accident Commission (MAC).

Says The Core Agency Sydney's Kevin MacNamara who was chairman of judges: "Cracking this brief comes with a very high degree of difficulty, because it's been done brilliantly hundreds of times, all around the world. So, finding a new way to do it is impressive, and deserves to be recognised."

Screen Shot 2018-11-07 at 1.35.03 pm.jpgWinner of the Master's Chair for the most outstanding craft entry, went to Heesom Casting for its multi-general casting for client Baby Einstein.

Says MacNamara: "This would have been an extremely difficult brief to crack and shows collaboration with other crafts in the field, to come together to make beautifully crafted piece of work."

j14_Wuag.jpegShowpony collected one craft Chair for San Remo-owned Balfour's Bakery, 11 Awards for the Hospital Research Foundation, the Department for Environment and Water, Balfour's and 13 Finalists.
Simple Integrated Marketing were awarded a Chair in design for its work for the SMSF Association in addition to two awards for SMSF and SA Health, plus 8 Finalists.

The only other Chair awarded went to The Distillery for Detmold Group. They also collected 2 finalists for Hoshizaki Lancer.

KWP! collected a total of 10 Awards, with the majority being for Surf Life Saving Australia and The Menzies School of Health Research and 20 Finalists' awards.

Influx were the only other multiple winners on the night with 2 Awards for the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra.

Single Awards went to KOJO for Zero Latency, Justin Astbury for MAC, Cul-De-Sac Design for Adelaide Fashion Festival, Martins Brand House for Australian Naval Infrastructure, Audio Embassy for Adelaide Oval and FULLER for Adelaide Hills Wine Region.

Multiple Finalists winners were Hybrid 12, Welbourn O'Brien 8, Nation 5 and Black Sheep Advertising 4.

The AADC would like to acknowledge the continued, generous support of its sponsors: Adstream, Group IMD blackbocks Jamshop Cutler Brands, Kojo, KWP, Distillery, KHQ Lawyers, NewsCorp Showpony, The Audio Embassy Merlin, Welbourn O'Brien, BAD.

blackbocks Jamshop - 2 Chairs, 10 Awards, 13 Finalists
Showpony - 1 Chair, 11 Awards, 13 Finalists
Simple Integrated Marketing - 1 Chair, 2 Awards, 8 Finalists
Heesom Casting - 1 Chair, 2 Awards, 2 Finalists
The Distillery - 1 Chair, 2 Finalists
KWP! - 10 Awards, 20 Finalists
Advertisng Influx - 2 Awards, 1 Finalist
KOJO - 1 Award, 7 Finalists
Justin Astbury - 1 Award, 5 Finalists
Cul-De-Sac - 1 Award, 3 Finalists
Martins Brand House - 1 Award, 3 Finalists
Audio Embassy - 1 Award, 2 Finalists
FULLER - 1 Award, 1 Finalist
Hybrid - 12 Finalists
Welbourn O'Brien - 8 Finalists
Nation - 5 Finalists
Black Sheep Advertising - 4 Finalists
Monkeystack - 1 Finalists


Leezy said:

Well deserved, Di - congratulations x

Leave a comment