Six from Western Australia make it through to the finalist stage of News Corp's 2014 Australian Cannes Young Lions competition

Comments (2)
GO-1600-x-320.jpgNews Corp Australia today announced the finalists of its 2014 Australian Cannes Young Lions competition and six from Western Australia have made it through to the next stage. Tim Newton and Wilora Keeley from JWT Perth are finalists in the Young Lions Print competition; Henry Billington and Paul Michael Donnelly from The Brand Agency are finalists in the Digital competition and Kylie Macey from Adcorp and Emma Williamson from Initiative have made it through in the Media category.
Over a week, a panel of judges including Justin Robinson (head of marketing and media for Foxtel), Adam Rose (creative director for AJF Partnership), Inese Kingsmill (director of corporate marketing for Telstra) and Tim McColl-Jones( executive manager, group, brand and marketing for Qantas), determined 61 finalists who had responded to a brief from the competition category sponsors:  UM (Media), AJF Partnership (Print), Qantas (Digital), Foxtel  (Film) and Commonwealth Bank (Young Marketer).
The next stage in the competition will see the shortlisted finalists in marketing, media, print and digital categories compete in a 24-hour brief, with finalists from the film category completing a 48-hour brief, all following the Cannes competition format.
Says Fiorella Di Santo, News Corp Australia's group director - sales: "We are excited to continue our role of helping uncover incredible young creative talent to represent Australia at 2014 The Cannes Young Lions competition in France.
"This year marks the sixth chapter of Australian Cannes Young Lions competition, which continues to grow and is highly regarded within the industry, providing amazing opportunities for young aspiring creative, media and marketing professionals.
"I'm very much looking forward to the next round of the competition and awarding 10 talented creative and advertising professionals the opportunity to attend the most reputable creative festival in the world along with the opportunity for the runners-up teams in media and print to represent Australia at the Young Spikes Asia Competition in Singapore in September. I wish all finalists the very best of luck."
The second round occurs from 19 May 2014 with winners being announced at a cocktail event on the evening of 29 May 2014.
Winning teams will receive return flights to Nice in France, accommodation and a Young Lions registration to the Cannes Festival with access to all the seminars, awards ceremonies, showcases and the Young Lions party. The Young Lions registration also allows them to participate in the Young Lions Zone, which includes 10 master classes and interactive kiosks showcasing winning work from the worldwide Young Lions competitions.
The 2014 Cannes Young Lions Australian finalists are:
Mietta McFarlane and Luke Chard - Droga5
Jack Nunn and Charlie Gearside - M&C Saatchi
Melissa Baillache and David Brown - Reactive
Kae Yen Wong and Paolo Sta. Barbara - Host Sydney
Louise McQuat and Tim Collier - VML
Adam Stone and Long Truong - We Are Social
Lucas Black-Dendle and Raz Djamaluddin - Whybin\TBWA
Laura Petruccelli and Rohan Cooke - Grey
Henry Billington and Paul Michael Donnelly - The Brand Agency
Michael Birchall and Mark Starmach - Freelance/Circulate
Edward Macaulay and Alex Schieder - Leo Burnett Sydney
Curt McDonald  and Casey Schweikert - Leo Burnett
Giles Clayton and Simon Hayes - Clemenger BBDO
Peter Defries and Alan Wilson - Disciple
James Gillespie and Julia Dixon - Oddfellows
Jack Nunn and Charlie Geraside - M&C Saatchi
Carl Robertson and Tristan Viney - GPYR
Media - ACT
Luke Wesney - UM
Media - NSW
Max Broer - Initiative
Amy Lester - Ikon Communications
Elyse Foley - Ikon
Natalie Pidding - Carat
Jack Bellamy - UM
Chanel Cummings - Carat Sydney
Jason Maggs - Mindshare
John Dawson - Mindshare
Media - QLD
Lauren Kenny - Zenithoptimedia Brisbane
Nelson Demartini  - UM
James Diamond - Carat Brisbane
Hannah MacAuslane - UM
Media - SA
Callum Wells - MEC
Media - VIC
Camilla Wallace - OMD
Jeremy Gavin - OMD Melbourne
Amy Denyer - Maxus
Tim Farmer - Carat
Jennifer Carroll - Mindshare
Elizabeth Calwell - Mindshare
Media - WA
Kylie Macey - Adcorp
Emma Williamson - Initiative
Curtis McDonald and Casey Schweikert - Leo Burnett Sydney
Edward Macaulay and Alex Schieder - Leo Burnett Sydney
Casey Schweikert and Curtis McDonald - Banjo Advertising
Daniel Davison and Ashley Wilding - Banjo Advertising
Sam Grant and Fee Millist - Belgiovane Williams Mackay
Chloe Banicevic and Archana Murugaser - Arnold Furnace
Sal Cavallaro and Dave Biddle - 303Lowe Sydney
Blake Arthur and Matt Enis - Ogilvy & Mather
Cat Williams and Charli Hoffmann - Momentum Worldwide
Carl Robertson and Tristan Viney - GPYR
Edward Negus and Sash Kitulgoda - Big Red
Cam McMillan and Adam Slater - BWM Melbourne
Millicent Malcolm and Zenon Predecki - JWT Melbourne
Tim Newton and Wilora Keeley - JWT
Young Marketer
Meredith Jones - Luxottica
Laura Jenkins - Foxtel
Pippa Kulmar - Retail Oasis
Marty Peat - Virgin Mobile


Melis said:

Congratulations Kylie! Awesome job :)

Marc said:

Congratulations Wilora!

Leave a comment