AWARD School 2018 top students revealed; Elizabeth Graydon named top WA student

Comments (1)
AWARD School 2018-41_BLOG.jpgThe top students of 2018 AWARD School in each state were announced  last night in a celebration of emerging talent at graduation ceremonies held in capital cities around the country.

This year the AWARD School theme was 'Big Ideas For a Big Future' and it didn't disappoint with 200 of the country's best and brightest undiscovered creatives graduating from the 12 week course.

Elizabeth Graydon won the Gold Pencil as WA's top student, with Brandon Piggott runner-up and Christopher Luu third.  Last night's presentation at a special 'pop-up' gallery in the Marketforce building was very well supported by the industry, with representatives from most of Perth's major agencies in attendance.

WA AWARD School coordinator and Marketforce ECD Paul Coghlan said the standard of work this year had been very high across-the-board, with many outstanding ideas in the students' folios making choosing the winner a difficult task.
AWARD School 2018-33_BLOG.jpg
"It was indeed a thorough process - over five and a half hours of passionate, intelligent deliberations by some of Perth's greatest creative leaders ...The standard of work was very strong."

Other state winners were Lucas Fowler (NSW); Phoebe Sloane (VIC); Edward King (QLD); and Shaun McFarlane (SA).  The five state winners are now in the running for National Top Student and will have their books reviewed by an international super jury. The finalists will be flown to Sydney for the national announcement on August 7.

On behalf of AWARD, Committee Member and M&C Saatchi chief creative officer Cam Blackley congratulated the winners and commended all graduates for their dedication throughout the intensive, yet highly rewarding, program.

Blackley thanked this year's school heads, lecturers, tutors and state judges - a total of 188 nationally - without whom AWARD School would not be possible.

In 2018, 94 tutors from 42 agencies participated in AWARD School nationally. WA tutors were Rikki Burns (Meerkats), Dean Hunt (303MullenLowe), Nathan Teoh (The Brand Agency) and Melita Masters (303MullenLowe).

The state winners of the Social Brief were also announced. This is an AWARD initiative whereby students develop a campaign idea for Australia's most deserving social causes. In 2018, food rescue charity OzHarvest was selected for the initiative. Simon Mullins won in WA.

National winners will be announced at the AWARD School National Graduation in Sydney on August 7.

AWARD and The Communications Council would like to thank sponsoring partner Facebook Australia for its generous support and for providing the national prize. This year's National Top Student will fly to Menlo Park, California for a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity with Facebook's creative agency ambassador group.

AWARD School 2018-39_BLOG.jpg
AWARD School 2018-2_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-4_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-5_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-6_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-8_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-9_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-10_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-11_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-14_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-12_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-16_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-19_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-7_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-20_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-25_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-31_BLOG.jpgAWARD School 2018-42_BLOG.jpg2018AWARDSchool_WAGrads_BLOG.jpg


Luke H said:

Congrats Liz and Chris, killin' it!

Leave a comment

About Campaign Brief WA is a blog for the advertising industry in Western Australia. Please comment freely on any topic, but comments that are seen to be more abusive than witty will not be posted. To pass on news or advertise on the blog, or to subscribe to Campaign Brief Australia/NZ or CB Asia, or The Work 09 Annual, email